MONTANA STATE HEMP PROGRAM
PO Box 200201-Helena, MT 59620-0201
Mikayla.Moore@mt.gov — (406) 438-0989

2025 INDOOR/OUTDOOR HEMP LICENSE APPLICATION - Stage 1

Application deadline: Outdoor - May 30, 2025 / Indoor - No deadline ® Valid through December 31, 2025
For applicants intending to grow within tribal boundaries, please note updated licensing requirements in the Instructions.

APPLICANT INFORMATION (see instructions for completion of this form) Provide your previously issued License Number: MTSHP-

NAMES and TITLES of KEY PARTICIPANTS

Seed/Live Plant Source and Verification - Complete the information for each variety and strain you are applying to grow, all
information and attachments are required. Use the optional page 2 if necessary. See more detailed instructions on page 4.

Units Grow
Type . i Seed or
. . . yp Name of Licensed License Number -
Variety/Strain Quantity Acres | Outdoor Seed Dealer or Nursery (of Seed Dealer or Live
or or Nursery) Plants?
Plants Indoor

A non-refundable application fee is required with this application, see Instructions for details.
[l $1,100 - Category C growers O $850 - Category A or B only growers

ATTESTATION STATEMENT - | hereby certify that the information contained in and submitted with this application is true and
correct. Persons who violate federal laws regarding hemp may be subject to federal prosecution. | agree to comply with Section 80-
18-101 through 80-18-111, MCA, ARM 4.19.101 - 202, and with other state and federal regulations, including consent to entrance of
related properties by department personnel for inspection and testing of hemp. | further acknowledge that | have read, accept, and
agree to the conditions outlined in the accompanying Risk Acknowledgement Statement.

Applicant Printed Name: Applicant Title:

Applicant Signature: Date:
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2025 INDOOR/OUTDOOR HEMP LICENSE APPLICATION - Stage 1

Seed/Live Plant Source and Verification form (page 2, optional)

Complete the information for each variety and strain you are applying to grow, all information and attachments are
required. Only use this page if necessary. See more detailed instructions on page 4.

Units Grow Seed
. i eed or
: . . Type Name of Licensed License Number X
Variety/Strain Quantity Acres | Outdoor Seed Dealer or Nursery (of Seed Dealer Live
or or or Nursery) Plants?
Plants Indoor
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Montana State Hemp Program
2025 Risk Acknowledgment Statement

The Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018 (2018 Farm Bill, Section 10113) directs the U.S. Department of
Agriculture (USDA) to provide states desiring to have primary regulatory authority over the production of hemp
the opportunity to submit state plans for approval. In 2022, the Montana Department of Agriculture
implemented its USDA approved State Hemp Plan in compliance with the 2018 Farm Bill and the Final Rule, 7
CFR part 990 (effective March 22, 2021).

Cannabis plants and products produced from “Category C” strains may not follow the 2018 Farm Bill or federal
hemp regulations. The Montana Department of Agriculture will allow planting of “Category C” strains during
the 2025 growing season but does not guarantee or certify that these plants and products are included in the
definition of hemp under the federal Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018. Any license holder planting seeds or
clones or processing hemp products from “Category C” strains acknowledge and agrees to the following
conditions:

1. Any and all parts of “Category C” Cannabis sativa L. plants, whether growing or not, may be considered
marijuana under state, local, or federal jurisdictions within and outside of the state of Montana.

2. Any license holder electing to plant “Category C” strains who violates any part of the state plan with a
culpable mental state greater than negligence shall be reported to USDA and federal and state law
enforcement officials.

3. Any law enforcement actions related to the integrity of “Category C” hemp strains are the sole
responsibility of the grower, supplier, and landowner.

4. No liability shall attach to the Montana Department of Agriculture or to any officer or representative of
the department with respect to “Category C” Cannabis strains.

5. Remediation options for Cannabis strains grown for CBD production and testing greater than 0.3% Total
THC no longer include chemical or physical extraction and/or dilution of THC.

In addition, all hemp license holders planting seeds, clones, possessing hemp plants, or processing hemp
products acknowledge and agrees to the following conditions:

1. Hemp varieties or strains planted and developed in the United States prior to 2016 may not be compliant
with the 2018 Farm Bill or federal hemp regulations.

2. The department may request lab report results from any known Cannabis testing lab in Montana.

3. Plants and products that exceed the hemp Total THC threshold of 0.3% will be reported by the license
holder to the department immediately and a corrective action plan developed.

4. THC s tested in Montana using the federally required post-decarboxylation method, meaning the
component measured to determine the compliance of hemp is Total THC, which includes THCa.

5. The purchase and planting of non-certified or non-labeled seed includes inherent risk to the quality of the
seed, the genetics, and the potential of elevated THC levels of the crop produced.

6. Per federal regulations, a criminal history report is required to be completed by the department for the
license applicant and key participants to determine program eligibility. Hemp program participation
requires no prior convictions of felony charges related to a controlled substance in the previous 10
years.

7. Each license holder must report hemp crop acreage to the USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) and report
FSA assigned Lot Numbers to the department via the Hemp Planting Report.

-End of Risk Acknowledgment Statement-
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INSTRUCTIONS

The hemp license application is to apply for the growing of hemp for the calendar year in which it is issued, whether
growing outdoors or indoors. This application must be completed by an individual or an authorized company
representative. Application does not constitute licensure until final approval. Applications will not be processed until
all required information is received.

Tribal Reservation Boundaries: The state of Montana does not have authority over hemp grown within the boundaries
of tribal reservations. That authority rests with the tribal nation on the reservation or the U.S. Department of
Agriculture (USDA), depending on the status of the resident tribe’s hemp plan. Any person interested in growing
hemp within reservation boundaries, whether a tribal member or not, must contact the resident tribal nation or the
USDA to request information on hemp licensing requirements. Questions related to jurisdictional authority and USDA
requirements for licensing can be emailed to farmbill.hemp@usda.gov. Contact information for tribal nations within
Montana can be found at https://tribalnations.mt.gov/tribalnations.

The department issues hemp licenses in two (2) progressive stages. Upon approval of this application, eligible
applicants will be issued a Planting Permit so they may purchase seed or live plants and plant or transplant hemp. To
receive full licensure, the applicant must submit a Planting Report confirming information about the crop that was
planted. Successful candidates will be issued the second stage Production License. The Production License allows for
the production and harvest of compliant hemp. Any applicant that does not meet the conditions of the Production
License will forfeit their Planting Permit and the crop will require destruction. Prior to applying for a Planting Permit,
an applicant should review the Stage 2 requirements for receiving the full license on the department’s website.

Applicant Information: The application must be completed in its entirety, including printed name, date, and signatures.
The licensed entity can be a single individual with or without a business. A Business Name is only required if licensing
as a registered business. If a business name is included, you must provide the Business License Number on file with the
Montana Secretary of State’s Office. Businesses are also required to list its EIN number.

Key Participants: If licensing as a business, provide the full name, title, contact information and criminal history report
for each key participant. Key Participant is defined as “a person or persons who have a direct or indirect financial
interest in the entity producing hemp, such as an owner or partner in a partnership. A key participant also includes a
person in a corporate entity at executive levels including the chief executive officer, chief operating officer, and chief
financial officer. This does not include other management positions like farm, field, or shift managers”.

Criminal History Report Requirement: In accordance with the 2018 Farm Bill and the Final Rule, 7 CFR Part 990
(effective March 22, 2021), the department must review a criminal history report for all applicants to determine
eligibility for participation in the hemp program. To meet this requirement, department procedures include an FBI
Identity History Summary (IHS) be submitted for all individual applicants and, if the application is for a business entity,
for each key participant. In order to obtain an Identity History Summary applicants must submit a request to the FBI.
IHS reports must be dated within 60 days of the application and mailed to the department directly from the FBI. Hemp
program participation requires no prior convictions of felony drug charges in the previous 10 years. For more
information on how to complete this process, visit https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks.

Seed/Live Plant Source and Verification: The department has developed four risk-based categories of hemp cultivars.
The cultivar you choose will determine the level of review your application receives and the level of testing of your crop.
All cultivars that meet the definitions of Category A, B or C are allowed to be planted. Visit the department’s hemp
website for more information on hemp categories and the complete list of Category A and B varieties.

The application must include for each variety or strain the quantity of land area or number of plants requested to be
permitted, the grow type, name and license number of the seed provider or nursery from which you obtained plants,
and an indication of your purchase: Seed or Live Plants. A copy of the seed label (provided to you by the seed provider)
is required for each Category A and B variety. For Category C strains, a copy of the seed label or the Certificate of
Analysis (COA) is required.

Variety or strain and location changes made after the application is processed will be subject to a $50/request change
fee. Contact Mikayla Moore to request the Change Request form.
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The person providing seed and/or live plants to a Montana grower must be licensed to distribute into Montana - seed
providers must be licensed in Montana; nurseries must be licensed in their resident state. Growers who purchase live
plants must submit a copy of the provider’s resident state hemp license and verification of variety/strain (nursery label,
seed label or COA) and be aware of live plant importation requirements. For more information on these requirements,
please visit our website at https://agr.mt.gov/Seed-Program, https://agr.mt.gov/Nurseries, or
https://agr.mt.gov/Hemp.

Fees: Licensees who plant a Category C strain are required to pay the $1,100 license fee. This fee includes the initial
inspection and testing of the first Category C sample. A $250 testing fee will be required for each additional sample and
a $250 inspection/sampling fee will be required for each additional inspection.

Licensees who plant only Category A or B varieties are required to pay the $850 license fee. The initial inspection fee
and the first sample testing fee is waived. A $250 testing fee will be required for each additional sample and a $250
inspection/sampling fee will be required for each additional inspection.

Regardless of Category planted, growers who request sampling (e.g., insurance claim) will be charged the standard
$250 inspection fee and the standard $250 testing fee. The department may assess a processing fee of $100 for any
late or incomplete documentation associated with the licensing process and a change fee of $50 for a request for each
new cultivar or location associated with a previously processed license application. Checks should be written to the
Montana Department of Agriculture. Credit card payments can be made by contacting Mikayla Moore, processing fees

will apply.
Mail To: Montana Department of Agriculture - State Hemp Program, PO Box 200201, Helena, MT 59620-0201

For additional assistance, visit our website at https://agr.mt.gov/Hemp or contact Mikayla Moore at (406) 438-0989 or
by email at Mikayla.Moore@mt.gov.

Reporting Requirements:
Harvest Notification - Each license holder is responsible for contacting the department a minimum of 30 days prior to
harvest to confirm actual harvest date and schedule a pre-harvest inspection.

FSA Reporting - Each license holder is required to report their hemp growing locations and acreage to the USDA Farm
Service Agency (FSA) prior to submitting the Stage 2 Hemp Planting Report to the department.

Annual Hemp Harvest/Disposal Report - Each licensee must annually submit a report listing the harvest and disposal of
any hemp grown by the licensee.

A licensee must keep all records related to the planting, growing, harvesting, storage, disposal, sale and/or processing
of hemp, and make those records available for inspection for a minimum of three years.

Additional information on each of these reporting requirements can be found on our website at
https://agr.mt.gov/topics/h-m/hemp-pages/Reporting
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